DJ Awards, Ibiza 10th Anniversary | Skip to main content

DJ Awards, Ibiza 10th Anniversary

DJ Awards, Ibiza 10th Anniversary

Lenny Ibizarre's pioneering awards are ten!

In 1998, the very first DJ Awards, Ibiza was conceived by seminal White Isle DJ Lenny Ibizarre and business partner Jose Pasgual to celebrate the finest DJ talent and club nights on the island. Fast forward ten years, and the DJ Ibiza Awards is now one of the most important international dance music ceremonies, and for this year's event, taking place at Pacha on Thursday 27th September, they'll be celebrating the milestone of making it to double figures.

Set up as a non-profit organisation, this time around the DJ Ibiza Awards have linked up with the Dance4Life charity to help raise awareness and change perceptions about children suffering from AIDS and HIV worldwide. The number of awards has grown this year, with two extra categories: the Best Electro DJ award and the Best International Festival.

The best DJs from various genres will each win an award in the form of a chunk of the mineral Kryptonite (the fabled green rock that could harm Superman), with participating music types including tech-house to trance, house, urban and more, with further awards designated to Best Newcomer, Breakthrough DJ and best Ibiza DJ. The winners of the categories have been nominated by the public, and for the first time this year, participants have been able to vote via text message as well as via the website Voting has now closed and the nominees are all announced - now time is ticking 'til we find out who wins!

Just some of the nominees this year include Roger Sanchez, Louie Vega and Erick Morillo (house); Sven Väth, DJ Hell, and Carl Cox (techno); and Sebastián Gamboa, Tomas Hedberg and Nano Vergel (Ibiza DJ). Some very special guests will be performing at the ceremony, but these are being kept under wraps until nearer the time. But can reveal that the official afterparty will take place at F**l Me I'm Famous, with David Guetta and Sarah Main appearing. In the past, the event has been attended by the likes of previous winners Tiesto, Paul Oakenfold, Danny Tenaglia, Ferry Corsten and Steve Lawler to name a few.

A tenth anniversary double CD (with bonus DVD) is now available to commemorate the occasion with the DVD featuring highlights of the last ten years, with the CDs containing unmixed tracks from 2007. For more information hit up the website