Lewis Dene's Inside Track | DJMagAdmin.com Skip to main content

Lewis Dene's Inside Track

Lewis Dene's Inside Track

The latest gossip, views and opinions in the dance music industry

The angst vocals of Luciana on ‘I Like That’, by Static Revenger & Richard Vission, are the perfect remedy for those that have overdosed on Lady Gaga but still crave an electro-punk fix. Luciana is anything but a copyist, having already graced singles for Bodyrox, Super Mal, Martijn Ten Velden and Michael Gray, and Static Revenger and Richard Vission’s track records speak volumes in the UK and US. While Gaga wants to “ride your disco stick”, Luciana’s euphemism de jour is “I like your pocket rocket”, but the end result is still one seriously listenable slice of dance music made with daytime radio in mind. This Frenetic release is every bit the angst punk-funk electro dancer you could wish for and more.

You’d be forgiven for thinking ‘Raindance’, the latest from the Z Records camp, was a lost master from the glorious days of Ten City, circa 1988 – 1990. But hang on, the artist name is Marshall Jefferson presents Ragtyme featuring Byron Stingily, and weren’t the innovative Chicago group originally named Ragtyme, fronted by Stingily and produced by Jefferson? Elementary, my dear Watson! This is indeed the genuine article and so kudos to Dave Lee who not only digs in crates for rare vinyl, but now it appears also seems to hunt around dusty studio storerooms for unreleased multi-tracks.
This is pure genius and equally worthy of sitting alongside ‘Right Back To You’, ‘Devotion’ and ‘Suspicious’ — although topping ‘That’s The Way Love Is’ will still take some beating.

Clubland’s ‘Let’s Get Busy’ was also written by the Godfather of House, the very same Marshall Jefferson, and was originally released in 1990. On its first outing it featured mixes by the likes of Snap!, David Morales and Quartz. Fast forward to the present day and Morgan King’s new Accidental Music label reintroduces it to a new generation, bringing it screaming into 2009 with contemporary updates from Sami Dee, The DubMonkeys, Max Julien, Marco Zappala and MK himself.

Karl Kennedy

You wait almost ten years then, like buses, Baby D’s ‘Let Me Be Your Fantasy’ comes along in not one but two new versions. Ruff Loaderz vs Scott Giles pull up first supporting Bart B. More and Lil Silva versions, but it’s Carl Kennedy’s version on Wasted Youth that’s the real double-decker. A UK No.1 pop smash back in ’94 and then again in the Top 20 in 2000, both versions feature Baby D, who really must be the true winner here.

K-Klass’s Muzik-K label delivers their summer entrant for Ibiza anthem in the shape of ‘Samba Party’ by Graeme Park & Nick Hussey. The Hacienda team will need little by way of introduction, with Hussey also the man behind one of the biggest crossover anthems to originate in the club, Awesome 3’s ‘Don’t Go’. Together they’ve created a nostalgic number sounding not unlike a lost master from the Subliminal vaults around the time of the Constipated Monkey’s ‘Cro Magnon’ and Mongobonix ‘Mas Pito’, and even the perfect accompaniment to Montano’s ‘Itza Trumpet Thing’ from the same late-’90s era.
Next from the label will be Reza with the K-Klass mixed ‘Pumpin It Up’, and a brace of chunky cuts (‘Dreamer’ and ‘Capture Me’) from an as-yet-unnamed artist that’ll surface in the autumn.

With his solo single ‘You Got Me Twisted’ featuring Tara McDonald out shortly on Eye Industry, we hear Michael Gray has also recently collaborated with Paul Harris and the Shapeshifters, but best news of all is he’s now back in the studio for the first time in five years working with his Full Intention partner Jon Pearn.

Following hot on the heels of the Fedde Le Grand and Redlight mixes of their breakthrough hit ‘Squeeze Me’ — which sold an impressive 50,000+ downloads — Kraak & Smaak release ‘Ain’t Gonna Take It No More’ from their ‘Plastic People’ album, backed with a new Bart B More mix.

In other Jalapeno news, Dr Rubberfunk is putting the finishing touches to his third studio album that will feature soul man Roachford, Dutch diva Sitzka and John Turrell from label mates Smoove & Turrell.